Let's Talk About Compression!

People often wonder about the different compression strengths and what the mmHg stands for.
I admit, it can seem confusing but it's actually quite simple.
  • What does mmHg mean?
mmHg is a measurement unit used to take blood pressure. It means millimeters of mercury, and it indicates the level of compression.

  • What does graduated compression mean?
The term graduated means that the compression is tighter at the bottom than at the top, which improves circulation and promotes better returned blood flow toward the heart.

  • Which compression level is best for me?
You should speak with your doctor to discuss if compression garments are right for you and to determine which compression strength is most suitable for you. We make 8-15mmHg, 15-20mmHg and 20-30mmHg and below is a brief description of each to help you decide:

  • 8-15mmHg:
A very light level of compression. Ideal for mild leg pain and fatigue. 8-15mmHg will give your legs a little extra support for improved overall health.

  • 15-20mmHg:
This level is slightly more supportive than the 8-15mmHg and is ideally suited for everyday use to support and soothe swollen and achy legs. 

  • 20-30mmHg:
20-30mmHg is often prescribed by doctors following medical procedures. It is a level up from the 15-20mmHg and can help with conditions such as leg swelling, fatigue and more chronic leg pain.

Join the Hele community!

Sign-up for product updates and special discounts!